Brunei: History

  1. 1400s

    The sultanate of Brunei is now in control of Borneo, including the Sabah and Sarawak states of Malaysia and parts of the Sulu islands in the Philippines.

  2. 1846

    Brunei develops into its present size after surrendering the island of Labuan to Britain.

  3. 1888

    Brunei is now under British Government rule, while retaining internal independence but with British control over external affairs.

  4. 1929

    Oil extraction begins.

  5. 1959

    Brunei's first written constitution is introduced proclaiming Islam as the state religion and keeping Britain in charge of defense and foreign affairs.

  6. 1984

    Brunei gains its independence and joins the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

  7. 2000

    Brunei says it will retrain up to 25% of the workforce to diversify the economy away from oil and to develop alternative industries such as tourism.

  8. 2010

    Malaysia and Brunei agree to develop two oil areas off Borneo cooperatively, resolving a border dispute dating from 2003, which held up exploration.


BBC News