Dominican Republic: Introduction

Dominican Republic is a nation on the island of Hispaniola, part of the Great Antilles archipelago between the Caribbean region and North Atlantic Ocean. It is bordered by Haiti on the east and consists mostly of rugged mountains with fertile valleys. The government system is a democratic republic. The chief of state and head of government is the President. Dominican Republic has a mixed economic system in which the economy includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Dominican Republic is a member of Dominican Republic-Central Free Trade Agreement (DR-CAFTA).