Estonia: History

  1. 1918

    After the Russian Revolution of 1917, Estonia declares independence.

  2. 1940

    Following the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact between Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union, Soviet troops invade the Baltic region and incorporate Estonia along with the two other Baltic republics into the Soviet Union. 

  3. 1991

    The Soviet government recognizes the independence of the Baltic Republics.

  4. 2004

    Estonia formally admitted to both the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the European Union (EU).

  5. 2011

    Estonia adopts the Euro as its currency.


BBC News