Georgia: History

  1. 1783

    The Kingdom of Kartli in eastern Georgia signs the Treaty of Georgievsk, where Russia takes Georgia as a protectorate.

  2. 1801

    Georgia becomes annexed as part of Russia.

  3. 1918

    Georgia declares itself an independent republic after the Russian Revolution.

  4. 1921

    The Russian Red Army invades and occupies Georgia.

  5. 1922

    Georgia is declared a Soviet Socialist Republic and becomes a part of the Transcaucasian Soviet Federative Republic, becoming a founding member of the Soviet Union.

  6. 1936

    The Transcaucasian Soviet Federative Republic dissolves, making Georgia a full republic of the Soviet Union.

  7. 1991

    The Soviet Union collapses, and Georgia declares independence from the U.S.S.R.

  8. 1992

    Seccessionists in Abkhazia start to fight the Georgian government.

  9. 1994

    Russia comes as a peacekeeping force, forcing the Georgian government and the separatists from Abkhazia to sign a ceasefire.

  10. 2008

    Tensions between Georgia and Russia over disputed territory in Abkhazia and South Ossetia burst into a five-day war; Russia declares the two territories as independent states.


BBC News