Kiribati: History

  1. 1820

    The islands are named the Gilbert Islands after a British naval captain.

  2. 1892

    Britain declares a protectorate over the Gilbert Islands and the nearby Ellice Islands.

  3. 1975

    The colony is divided into two separate territories: the Gilbert Islands and the Ellice Islands.

  4. 1979

    The Gilbert Islands become an independent republic within the British Commonwealth and are renamed Kiribati.

  5. 1999

    Kiribati is admitted to the United Nations.

  6. 2006

    Kiribati creates the world's third-largest marine reserve.


BBC News