Moldova: History

  1. 1812

    The Treaty of Bucharest grants Russian control of eastern Moldova and the Ottoman Empire control of western Moldova.

  2. 1878

    The Ottoman Empire recognizes the independence of Romania, which includes western Moldova. 

  3. 1924

    The Moldovan Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic is established.

  4. 1939

    A pact between Nazi Germany and Soviet Russia divides Romania between the two nations. A large portion of Moldova is given to the Soviet Union.

  5. 1991

    Moldova declares its independence and joins the Commonwealth of Independent States, which was the successor of the Soviet Union.

  6. 1992

    Moldova's currency, the Rouble, is replaced by the Leu. 


BBC News