Peru: Introduction

Peru is a country in South America. It has a coastline on the Pacific Ocean and is bordered by Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, and Ecuador. The Andes Mountains run parallel to the Pacific Ocean and many Peruvian rivers originate in the peaks and eastern lowlands contain tropical forests part of the Amazon basin. The government system is a constitutional republic. The chief of state and the head of government is the President. Peru has a mixed economic system in which the economy includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Peru is a member of the Asian Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), Latin American Integration Association (LAIA), and the Andean Community (CAN).