Serbia: History

  1. 1878

    Serbian independence is recognized at the Congress of Berlin.

  2. 1918

    The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes is formed following World War I. It is renamed the Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929.

  3. 1945

    Serbia joins Slovenia, Macedonia, Croatia, Bosnia, and Montenegro in becoming a republic in the new Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

  4. 1991

    Slovenia, Macedonia, Croatia, and Bosnia break apart from Yugoslavia.

  5. 1992

    Montenegro and Serbia form the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

  6. 1998

    The Kosovo Liberation Army rebels against Serbian rule, prompting a brutal crackdown by the Serbian government. The United Nations and NATO intervene, eventually making Kosovo a UN protectorate.

  7. 2002

    Yugoslav, Montenegrin, and Serbian leaders sign a European Union mediated accord to set up a new Union of Serbia and Montenegro in place of Yugoslavia.

  8. 2006

    Montenegro declares independence and Serbia’s parliament responds by declaring the Republic of Serbia as the continuity of the state union.

  9. 2008

    UN-administered Kosovo declares itself independent from Serbia. Serbia claims that this declaration of independence is illegal.

  10. 2008

    Serbia’s parliament ratifies an agreement on forming closer ties with the European Union, paving the way to future membership.

  11. 2008

    Russia and Serbia finalize an energy deal that will grant Moscow control of Serbia’s oil distribution network.


BBC News