Taiwan: Government

Republic of China Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of China

Key Figures

Chief of State: President Tsai Ing-wen

Head of Government: Premier Lin Chuan


Government Name: Republic of China

Constitution: Adopted: 1946; Going into effect in 1947, this constitution made China the "most populous paper democracy" in the world. Additionally it establishes the five branches of government. Although it was initially meant for all of China, it was not implemented efficiently and the KMT was in a civil war with the Communist Party of China at the time of its promulgation.

Government Type: Multiparty Democracy

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle Source: ElectionGuide, http://www.electionguide.org/
Control Yuan

Investigatory agency that monitors the other branches of government.

Nominated by the president.

6 years

Examination Yuan

Civil service examination agency.

Nominated by the president.

4 years


Evaluate statutory and budgetary bills concerning martial law, amnesty, declarations of war, conclusion of peace or treaties, and other important affairs before submission to the Legislative Yuan.

President is elected by popular vote, premier is appointed by the president.

4 years


Interpret the Constitution and to unify the interpretation of laws and orders.

Nominated by the president with Legislative Yuan's permission.

9 years


Amend the constitution, impeach the president, or change national borders.

Sevety-three members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies, 34 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system, and 6 members are elected by single non-transferable vote.

4 years

International Relations

Foreign Policy Trends: The People's Republic of China replaced Taiwan at the United Nations in 1971, and Taiwan's diplomatic position has continued to erode, as many countries changed their official recognition from Taipei to Beijing. As of January 2012, Taiwan had formal diplomatic ties with 23 countries. At the same time, Taiwan has cultivated informal ties with most countries to offset its diplomatic isolation and to expand its economic relations. According to the Government Information Office's 2011 Yearbook, Taiwan has embassies and missions in 23 countries. Meanwhile, it maintains 91 representative offices in the capitals and major cites of 57 countries that do not maintain diplomatic relations with Taiwan. Taiwan's diplomatic partners, other countries, and the European Union maintains 68 embassies or representative offices in Taiwan.

Regional Trade Blocs: APEC

Treaties: No multilateral military treaties

International Organization Participation  Source: CIA World Factbook


Note: Click table to see details

Environmental Agreements  Source: CIA World Factbook

Note: Click table to see details

Tax Authority: Ministry of Finance

Tax Name: Business Tax (includes VAT and GBRT)


CIA World Factbook and U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets except where stated otherwise.