Turkey: History

  1. 1923

    Turkey is declared a republic. Kemal Ataturk becomes president, moving the country to become secular and more western.

  2. 1945

    Turkey joins the United Nations.

  3. 1952

    Neutrality is abandoned and Turkey joins NATO.

  4. 1963

    An association agreement is signed with the European Economic Community.

  5. 1992

    Turkey joins the Black Sea alliance.

  6. 1995

    Turkey enters the European Union customs union.

  7. 2002

    Turkey and Greece agree to build a gas pipeline that will supply Greece with Turkish gas.

  8. 2005

    A new currency called the Lira is introduced.

  9. 2013

    The European Union restarts talks with Turkey over membership.


BBC News