The Republic of Austria is a landlocked country in Central Europe. Neighboring countries include Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland. West and South Austria are located in the Alps while the rest of the country is mostly flat. The government system is a federal republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the federal chancellor. Austria has a mixed economic system which includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Austria is a member of the European Union (EU).

Country Comparator

Select variable and countries to compare in table format.

Country Rankings

Rank ordering and interactive map. Show how this country compares to others.