Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Norodom Sihamoni
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Hun Manet


Government Name:
Kingdom of Cambodia
Adopted: 1993; Constitution outlines several topics including sovereignty, basic rights and obligations of citizens, the king and his responsibilities as chief of State, defines policy making process, sets economic rules, outlines the education, cultural and social affairs, establishes liberal democracy, describes and delegates to legislative, judiciary and executive branches
Government Type:
Multiparty Democracy under a Constitutional Monarchy
Kingdom of Cambodia Flag
Coat of Arms of Kingdom of Cambodia

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The king appoints the prime minister from assembly and is also responsible for upholding sovereignty. He is the supreme commander of the armed forces. The prime minister is the head of government, appointing cabinet members and leading the government.

The king is hereditary. The prime minister is voted on by the assembly and appointed by the king.

Prime Minister: 5 years


The judiciary protects the freedom and rights of the citizens.

Judges of both courts are appointed by the monarch.

Supreme Court: no term limit, Constitutional Court: judges are appointed for 9-year terms with one-third of the court renewed every 3 years


The legislature creates laws.

The senate has 61 members: 57 are elected by members of the national assembly and local commune councilors, 2 are elected by the national assembly, and 2 members are appointed by the monarch. The national assembly has 123 members who are elected by universal adult suffrage.

Senate: 6 years; National Assembly: 5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets