• Following the dissolution of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, Croatia joins the newly formed Yugoslavia, consisting of modern-day Croatia, Serbia, and Slovenia.

  • The Kingdom is renamed Yugoslavia.

  • Nazi Germany invades the Kingdom and institutes a fascist puppet government.

  • Croatia becomes one of the six republics of the Federal Socialist Republic of Yugoslavia.
  • Croatia declares its independence leading to a war with the Serbian supported Yugoslav army.

  • The war with Yugoslavia ends in a Croatian victory, however, Croatia is left with $37 billion in damaged infrastructure, lost output, and refugee costs causing the nations GDP to fall by over 21%.

  • Croatia restores diplomatic relations with Yugoslavia.

  • Croatia officially joins NATO.
  • Croatia becomes the 28th member of the European Union.

  • Parliament is dissolved and elections are called for September.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new