Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Nikenike Vurobaravu
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Sato Kilman


Government Name:
Republic of Vanuatu
Adopted: 1980; Came into force when the country declared itself independent. Enumerates certain fundamental freedoms and rights of the individual, establishes a basic citizenship law, and establishes and regulates the country's major political, judicial, and cultural institutions. The electoral franchise is guaranteed as "universal, equal, and secret" and is given to all citizens 18 years and older. Duties of the president are mostly considered ceremonial and roles of other government bodies are delegated.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Republic
Republic of Vanuatu Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Vanuatu

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Vanuatu

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Has sole authority and responsibility for the daily administration of the country and enforce the law.

President is elected by an electoral college and the prime minister is elected by parliament.

5 years


Jurisdiction to provide binding interpretations of the constitution.

Appointment by president.

2 years


Power to give, adopt or amend laws, as well as approve the nation's budget.

Members are elected by single non-transferable vote.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

No Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets