On January 1, 1994, the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) between the United States, Canada, and Mexico entered force to create a trilateral trading bloc in North America. The agreement superseded the original Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement between the U.S. and Canada. NAFTA seeks to liberalize restrictions on trade among the three countries. Since its entry into force, NAFTA has eliminated most tariff and non-tariff barriers for trade and investment between its three member countries. NAFTA aims to promote the conditions of free competition in order to increase market access and investment opportunities within the free trade area.

From the Blog Blog RSS

The Switch From NAFTA to USMCA, What's the Same and What's Different?

4/23/2019 2:35:09 PM

Economists Questioning Canada’s Future

3/14/2018 10:27:08 AM

Member Countries

Member Countries
Canada Mexico United States


U.S. Trade Representative