Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Vahagn Khachaturyan
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan


Government Name:
Republic of Armenia
Adopted: 1995; Established Armenia as a democratic, sovereign, social, and constitutional state. Vests the power to its citizens in regard to elections.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Democracy
Republic of Armenia Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Armenia

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president serves as the head of state, strives to uphold the constitution and to ensure the regular functioning of the legislative, executive, and judicial powers and guarantees independence, territorial integrity, and the security of the republic. The prime minister is required by the constitution to oversee the government's regular activities and coordinate the work of the ministers.

The president is elected by absolute majority through a two-round system. The prime minister is appointed by the president with the approval of parliament.

5 years


The court of cassation and constitutional court (although separate from other two branches of government) enforce the laws on a local and nationwide basis.

Court of cassation judges are nominated by the judicial council.

Mandatory retirement age of 65


The national assembly is responsible for the creation of laws.

The national assembly has 90 members elected through a closed-list proportional representation system and 41 members elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry of Finance and State Revenue Committee
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets