Key Figures

Chief of State:
Queen Elizabeth II represented by Governor General Sandra Mason
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Mia Mottley


Government Name:
Adopted: 1966; Elaborates upon basic structure and power of both government officials and branches, and also discusses finance, public service, and citizenship in Barbados. Most recently amended in 2003.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Democracy and a Commonwealth Realm
Barbados Flag
Coat of Arms of Barbados

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2019)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Barbados

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The queen is the ceremonial figure for the Barbados government. The governor-general performs the monarch's federal constitutional duties, acting within the principles of parliamentary democracy and responsible government as a guarantor of continuous and stable governance. The prime minister advises the Canadian monarch or viceroy. The QPC act as personal consultants to the Monarch depending on their specific title names.

The queen is hereditary. The governor general is appointed by the monarch. The prime minister is appointed by the governor-general.

Governor-General: at Her Majesty's discretion; Prime Minister: 5 years


The independent judiciary is composed of magistrates' courts, which are statutorily authorized, and a supreme court, which is constitutionally mandated. The supreme court consists of the high court and the court of appeal, each having four judges.

The supreme court of judicature judges are appointed by the service commissions for the judicial and legal service.

Mandatory retirement age of 65


The senate actually tends to be less dominant than commons. Approval of both houses is needed for legislation, but the senate rarely rejects bills passed by the directly elected commons.

The senate has 21 members who are appointed by governor-general. The house of assembly has 30 members who are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Customs and Excise Department
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets