• Belarus is occupied and controlled by the Russian Empire.
  • Following World War I, Belarus declares independence as the Belarussian National Republic. Their independence is short-lived, however, as the Soviet army invades later in the year.

  • The Belarussian Soviet Socialist Republic is proclaimed.
  • The Treaty of Riga divides Belarus between the Soviet Union and Poland.

  • Belarus becomes a founding member of the USSR. 

  • A policy of 'Russification' is pushed through in Belarus.

  • Belarus declares its independence following the collapse of the Soviet Union.

  • Belarus signs an economic union agreement with Russia.

  • The Belarus rouble halves in value. Soon after, Belarus signs an accord with Russia to eventually merge tax systems and adopt a single currency.

  • A dispute emerges between Russia and Belarus over Belarus’s debt owed to Russia. Russia reduces the amount of gas sent to Belarus, leading Belarus to shut down Russia’s gas pipeline to Europe. The two countries eventually reach an agreement after Belarus pays back the outstanding debt.

  • The government asks the International Monetary Fund for an emergency loan of $8 billion. A panic on basic goods ensues.
  • President Lukashenko tries to make a deal with the Russian and Ukrainian presidents to end the Russian-backed military campaign in eastern Ukraine. These "Minsk Agreements" do not successfully stop the fighting. 

  • Belarus hosts Russian troops for a joint military drill, showing Russia's commitment to the Lukashenko regime. 

  • Russian troops return to Belarus for another joint military exercise, but eventually use this opportunity to invade Ukraine from Belarusian land.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new