• Belgium declares its independence from the Netherlands.

  • The Benelux Economic Union is created between Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg to promote free movement of workers, goods, and services.

  • A formal linguistic border is established, with the northern part of the country designated as Dutch-speaking and the southern part designated as French-speaking.

  • Belgium ratifies the Maastricht Treaty, which creates the European Union.

  • Belgium is divided into three separate administrative regions: the Dutch-speaking area of Flanders, the French-speaking area of Wallonia, and the capital Brussels.

  • The euro replaces the Belgian franc as Belgium's currency.

  • Police investigate extreme-right activists' activities and make multiple arrests for allegedly planning attacks aimed at "destabilizing" Belgian insitutions.

  • Prime Minister Guy Verhofstadt resigns after his ruling coalition suffers losses in elections, leaving the country without a government for 100 days.

  • A new government is sworn in, led by Yves Leterme as Prime Minister.

  • Belgian government announces agreement with France and Luxembourg to rescue the Dexia bank, the world's biggest lender to local governments.

  • A coalition is formed between the Francophone liberal Reform Movement and three Flemish parties, including the New Flemish Alliance.

  • Unions call a 24-hour nationwide strike in protest of the government's economic austerity program.

  • A seven-party coalition is formed, ending a period of interim governments since May 2019.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new