Bosnia and Herzegovina is a country in Southeastern Europe on the Balkan Peninsula. It borders Croatia, Serbia, and Montenegro and has a small Adriatic Sea coastline. The geography of Bosnia and Herzegovina is mountainous. The government system is an emerging federal democratic republic. Three members (one Bosniak, one Croat, and one Serb) make up the presidency, but the chief of state is the chairman of the presidency, a rotating position between the three. The head of government is the chairman of the council of ministers. Formally a planned economy, Bosnia and Herzegovina is transitioning to a mixed economic system which includes a private-enterprise system, combined with government regulation. Bosnia and Herzegovina is a member of the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA).

Country Comparator

Select variable and countries to compare in table format.

Country Rankings

Rank ordering and interactive map. Show how this country compares to others.