Botswana is a landlocked country in Southern Africa that borders the countries of Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Zambia. The geography is flat, and up to 70% of Botswana is covered by the Kalahari Desert, thus making it a sparsely populated country with little agricultural activity. The government system is a parliamentary republic; the chief of state and head of government is the president. Botswana has a mixed economic system, which includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Botswana is a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Country Comparator

Select variable and countries to compare in table format.

Country Rankings

Rank ordering and interactive map. Show how this country compares to others.