• The Union of Kalmar unites Denmark, Sweden, and Norway. Denmark is the dominant power in the union.

  • Denmark cedes Norway to Sweden, while Iceland remains under Danish rule.

  • Denmark recognizes Iceland's independence.

  • Denmark joins NATO.
  • Denmark becomes a founding member of the Nordic Council, which is established to further the mutual interests of Scandinavian countries.
  • Denmark joins the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

  • Denmark joins the European Economic Community (ECC), which later becomes the European Union.

  • Denmark rejects the adoption of the euro. The Danish krone remains the national currency.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new