• French colony of Somliland is established in the region.

  • Djibouti becomes the capital of French Somaliland.

  • Ethiopia acquires parts of Djibouti after signing a treaty with France.

  • Djibouti becomes an overseas territory within the French Union with its own legislature and representation in the French parliament.

  • French Somaliland is renamed the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas.

  • The French Territory of the Afars and the Issas becomes independent as Djibouti.

  • IMF approves $14 million loan to boost Djibouti's drought-hit finances.

  • Djibouti goes through its fourth consecutive year of drought.

  • China's first overseas military base is opened in Djibouti. 


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new