Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Mohammed Irfaan Ali
Head of Government:
President Mohammed Irfaan Ali


Government Name:
Co-operative Republic of Guyana
Adopted: 1970; Establishes a parliamentary-style government based on the English Model, and a separation of powers with the legislative holding the most power by electing the president
Government Type:
Co-operative Republic of Guyana Flag
Coat of Arms of Co-operative Republic of Guyana

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president and prime minister are responsible for constituting the executive branch of government.

Indirectly elected by national assembly.

5 years


Responsible for constituting the judicial branch of government.

Appointed by the president.

Mandatory retirement age of 65


Responsible for electing the president and constituting the legislative branch of government.

65 seats are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets