Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Charles III represented by Governor General Sir Patrick L. Allen
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Andrew Holness


Government Name:
Adopted: 1962; The constitution establishes a parliamentary system based on the United Kingdom, but as politically independent. Outlines the rights of citizens and the structure of the government.
Government Type:
Constitutional Parliamentary Democracy and a Commonwealth Realm
Jamaica Flag
Coat of Arms of Jamaica

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The governor-general is largely a ceremonial figure who appoints the prime minister and senate seats through the advice of parliament and the prime minister. The prime minister exercises executive power along with appointing cabinet members.

The governor-general is appointed by the monarch on the recommendation of the prime minister. Following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party, or the leader of the majority coalition, in the house of representatives is appointed prime minister by the governor-general.

Governor-general: Under the discretion of the British monarch; Prime Minister: 5 years


Responsible for executing judicial tasks as the highest court of the land.

The chief justice of the supreme court and president of the court of appeal are appointed by the governor-general on the advice of the prime minister. Other judges of both courts are appointed by the governor-general on the advice of the judicial service commission.

Mandatory retirement age of 70


Consists of a senate and house of representatives that are responsible for creating legislature and advising the prime minister and governor general on appointments.

The senate has 21 members who are appointed by the governor-general through the recommendation of the prime minister (ruling party is given 13 seats and ministry 8 seats). The house of representatives has 63 members who are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets