Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Hage Geingob
Head of Government:
President Hage Geingob


Government Name:
Republic of Namibia
Adopted: 1990; Established a multi-party, presidential democracy seeking to overcome apartheid. In this constitution, presidency is required to be directly elected and restricted to two terms of 5 years each and the death penalty is abolished.
Government Type:
Republic of Namibia Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Namibia

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

President appoints prime minister and other members of the cabinet, while the prime minister heads the government.

President is elected by plurality vote, and the prime minister is appointed by the president.

4 years


Court of last resort and highest appellate court in Namibia.

Appointed by the president on recommendation by the Judicial Service Commission.

Life appointment


National Assembly is the primary legislative body and National Council plays a more advisory role.

National Council members are elected by indirect vote. National Assembly members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

National Council: 6 years; National Assembly: 5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Commissioner of Inland Revenue
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets