• Nicaragua is invaded by Spanish Forces.

  • Nicaragua becomes part of the United Provinces of Central America, which also includes Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.

  • Nicaragua leaves the United Provinces of Central American and becomes fully independent.

  • The British grants control over Nicaragua's Caribbean coast back to Nicaragua. 

  • US mines Nicaraguan harbors and is condemned by the World Court for doing so.

  • Nicaraguan leadership signs a peace agreement with neighboring Central American countries to settle military conflicts. Also, the country is hit by a severe hurricane, leaving approximately 180,000 homeless.

  • The World Bank wipes 80% of Nicaragua's debt and Russia writes-off Nicaragua's multi-billion dollar debt.

  • The Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA), which is an expansion of NAFTA to 5 Central American countries and the Dominican Republic, comes into effect. Congress approves the Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA).

  •  International Court of Justice rules on a group of disputed Caribbean islands, confirming that they belong to Colombia, not Nicaragua. But it expands a disputed maritime-border in favor of Nicaragua.

  • Nicaragua begins constructing a new $50 billion canal linking the Atlantic and the Pacific oceans. It will be longer, deeper, and wider then the Panama Canal.

  • The International Court of Justice rules in favor of Costa Rica in its long standing border dispute with Nicaragua.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new