Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Charles III represented by Governor General Marcella Liburd
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Dr. Terrance Drew


Government Name:
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Adopted: 1983; Briefly overviews topics such as protection of fundamental rights and freedoms, the structures and roles of the governor-general, parliament, and the executive branch, finances, public service, citizenship, judicial provisions, and other miscellaneous information.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Democracy
Saint Kitts and Nevis Flag
Coat of Arms of Saint Kitts and Nevis

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2013)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Saint Kitts and Nevis

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Monarch of the United Kingdom acts as a ceremonial figurehead, governor-general represents the king, and prime minister provides advice for the governor-general and leads the cabinet of ministers.

Governor-general is appointed by the monarch and prime minister is appointed by the governor-general.

Governor-General and Prime Minister: At His Majesty's discretion


Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court presides over multiple countries, one justice resides in St. Kitts.

Appointed by British monarch and the Judicial and Legal Services Commission.

Mandatory retirement age of 65


Responsible for drafting legislation.

National Assembly has 11 members elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies and 3 members are appointed by the governor-general.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets