The Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, or OECS, was founded on June 18th, 1981 when seven Eastern Caribbean nations signed the Treaty of Basseterre, in which they agreed to cooperate with each other and to promote unity among members. The Mission of the OECS is to be a Center of Excellence contributing to the sustainable development of OECS Member States by supporting their strategic insertion into the global economy while maximizing the benefits accruing from their collective space. In 2010 member states signed the Revised Treaty of Basseterre, which established the OECS as an economic union, making possible the creation of a single financial and economic space within which goods, people, and capital move freely.  All member states of the OECS, with the exception of Martinique, are either full or associate members of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

Member Countries

Member Countries
Antigua and Barbuda Dominica Grenada
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines


Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States