Key Figures

Chief of State:
Tuimaleali'ifano Va'aletoa Sualauvi II
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Fiame Naomi Mata’afa


Government Name:
Independent State of Samoa
Adopted: 1960; Formally came into play when the independence from New Zealand was established in 1962. It is based upon parliamentary democracy, a British pattern, but was modified in order to better fit the customs of the Samoan people. The document provides for the separation of powers and does not mention specific provisions on the protection of intellectual property rights, however, Article 14 of Part II states that "No property shall be taken possession of compulsorily, and no right over or interest in any property shall be acquired compulsorily".
Government Type:
Parliamentary Democracy
Independent State of Samoa Flag
Coat of Arms of Independent State of Samoa

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Samoa

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The O le Ao o Malo (president) is a ceremonial role, while the prime minister holds actual power as head of government.

O le Ao o Malo is elected by Fono and prime minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the parliament.

5 years


Supreme Court is the highest court. The Court of Appeal has a limited jurisdiction to hear only those cases referred to it by the Supreme Court.

Appointed by head of state.

Mandatory retirement age of of 68


Fono acts as the main legislative power and also elects the O le Ao o Malo.

Thirty-five members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies and 14 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

No Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets