• Slovenia joins the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes following the collapse of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.
  • The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes is renamed the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.

  • During World War II, Slovenia is occupied by Italy and Nazi Germany.

  • Slovenia becomes a constituent republic of Yugoslavia following the end of World War II.

  • Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, Slovenia declares independence causing the Yugoslav army to invade. The European Union later brokers a ceasefire and the Yugoslav army withdraws.

  • Slovenia joins the United Nations after their independence is recognized by both the European Union and the United States.

  • Slovenia signs an association agreement with the European Union.

  • Slovenia joins both the European Union and NATO following the approval from a national referendum the previous year.

  • The euro becomes the national currency.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new