• Until 1955, present-day South Sudan is part of Anglo-Egyptian Sudan, which is controlled under joint British-Egyptian rule.
  • Sudanese president Jaafar Numeiri concedes a measure of autonomy for present-day South Sudan in a peace agreement.
  • Oil is discovered in present-day South Sudan.
  • The Sudanese People's Liberation Movement, led by John Garang, starts the second Sudanese civil war against the north in response to the abolishment of South Sudan's autonomy.
  • In October, an autonomous government is officially formed in South Sudan.
  • South Sudan is declared independent from Sudan.
  • The presidents of Sudan and South Sudan agree to trade, oil, and security deals.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new