• Britain and the Boer Republic of Transvaal begin joint rule of Swaziland.
  • Swaziland becomes a British High Commission territory.
  • Swaziland is granted formal independence within the British commonwealth.
  • The parliamentary system is temporarily abolished and replaced by traditional tribal communities.
  • "Swaziland's budget crisis is described as ""critical"" by the International Monetary Fund, with the government struggling to pay its public sector workers."


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new