• The Groundwork for the Community is established in the Cartagena Agreement.
  • Venezuela joins the Andean Pact.
  • Augusto Pinochet withdraws Chile from the Andean Community on the claims of economic incompatibilities.
  • The treaty that created the Court of Justice is signed and the Andean Parliament and the Andean Concil of Foregn Ministers are created.
  • The treaty that created the Court of Justice enters into effect.
  • The presidents approve the open skies policy and agree to intensify integration.
  • Peru temoprarily suspends its obligations under the Liberalization Program.
  • The Free Trade Zone is entered into full operation for Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Venezuela.
  • The Common External Tariff is approved.
  • Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay are granted associate membership.
  • An agreement is for reached Peru's gradual incoporation into the Andean Free Trade Zone.
  • The Framework Agreement for the creation of a Free Trade Area between the Andean Community and Mercosur is signed in Buenos Aires.
  • President Hugo Chavez states that Venezuela would withdraw from the Andean Community.
  • Mercosur and the Andean Community formally establish the Union of South American Nations (USAN) to model after the European Union.


International Democracy Watch: Andean Community of Nations

Comunidad Andina