• Customs union between Kenya and Uganda is formed.
  • Tanzania joins the Customs Union.
  • EAC is named the East African High Commission.
  • The name changes to East African Common Services Organization.
  • The East African Common Services Organization is superseded by the East African Community.
  • The East African Community collapses due disagreements between member countries.
  • The East African Community is reestablished when its treaty was signed.
  • New treaty comes into force.
  • Burundi and Rwanda join the EAC.
  • South Sudan becomes the sixth member of the East African Community.


East African Community: History of the EAC