The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional economic community with a surface area of 3.8 million square miles, which encompasses 17% of the African continent. ECOWAS was created to increase economic and political amongst its members. The fifteen member states are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo. The ECOWAS Treaty (also known as the Treaty of Lagos) established the community when it was signed in Lagos, Nigeria, on May 28, 1975. A revised treaty was later signed on July 24, 1993. Mauritania was a founding member, but withdrew officially from the trade bloc in 1999.

From the Blog Blog RSS

ECOWAS's Continued Effort to Advance its Member's Standard of Living

3/16/2017 11:26:33 AM

Member Countries

Member Countries
Benin Burkina Faso Cabo Verde
Cote d'Ivoire Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Liberia Mali
Niger Nigeria Senegal
Sierra Leone The Gambia Togo


Official ECOWAS Website