The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, or SAARC, is an economic and geopolitical organization that was established to promote socio-economic development, stability, and welfare economics, and collective self-reliance within its member nations. Founded during a summit in 1985, SAARC’s initial members include Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Due to rapid expansion within the region, Afghanistan received full-member status and countries are considered observers. SAARC respects the principles of sovereign equality, territorial integrity, and national independence as it strives to attain sustainable economic growth.

Member Countries

Member Countries
Afghanistan Bangladesh Bhutan
India Maldives Nepal
Pakistan Sri Lanka


South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation