Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Charles A. Savarin
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit


Government Name:
Commonwealth of Dominica
Adopted: 1978; States the government's separation of powers in which legislative power is possessed by the parliament, executive by the president and cabinet of ministers, and judicial by the courts.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Democracy
Commonwealth of Dominica Flag
Coat of Arms of Commonwealth of Dominica

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Dominica

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president is the head of state, appoints the prime minister, acts in accordance with the advice of the prime minister, and appoints the cabinet of ministers. The prime minister is the head of government, supervises cabinet meetings, can call elections any time, and, in the spirit of the Westminster system, is nominally "Primus Inter Pares," or first among equals.

The president is elected by parliament, and the prime minister is appointed by the president.

5 years


The legal system is based on English common law. There are three magistrate's courts, with appeals made to the Eastern Caribbean court (a superior court of record for the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)) and, ultimately, to the judicial committee of the privy council in London.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) chief justice is appointed by His Majesty, King Charles III. Other justices and judges are appointed by the judicial and legal services commission.

The Court of Appeal justices: mandatory retirement age of 65; High Court judges: mandatory retirement age of 62


The house of assembly is the legislature, and, together with the president, constitutes parliament.

The house of assembly has 9 members who are appointed by parliament, and another 21 members elected by plurality vote.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets