Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Head of Government:
President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo


Government Name:
Republic of Ghana
Adopted: 1992; Declares Ghana as a unitary multi-party republic with sovereignty; separation and balance of powers through executive, legislative, and an independent judiciary branch; prevents future coups from establishing dictatorial government; and outlines the form of government.
Government Type:
Consitutional Democracy
Republic of Ghana Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Ghana

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

President is the head of state, government, and the armed forces. President appoints the vice president and has veto power.

The president is elected by majority vote by a two-round system.

4 years


The supreme court is responsible for judicial review.

Members are appointed by the president upon advice of the judicial council.

Judges can retire at age 60, mandatory retirement age of 70


Parliament creates legislature.

Seats are elected by plurality vote in single member constituencies.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ghana Revenue Authority
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets