Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Umaro Sissoco Embalo
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Rui Duarte De Barros


Government Name:
Republic of Guinea-Bissau
Adopted: 1984; Establishes a semi-presidential representative democratic republic, separation of powers among executive and legislative branches with the judicial being independent.
Government Type:
Republic of Guinea-Bissau Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Guinea-Bissau

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president and prime minister are responsible for executive tasks and constituting the executive branch of government.

The president is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system.

5 years


Responsible for supreme court decisions and constituting of the judicial branch of government.

Nominated by the higher council of the magistrate, then appointed by the president.

Life appointment


The people’s national assembly is responsible for constituting the legislative branch of government.

102 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets