Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Mamady Doumbouya
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Bernard Gomou


Government Name:
Republic of Guinea
Adopted: 1990; Outlines the separation of powers among the executive, legislative, and judicial branches and establishes a republican form of government (temporarily suspended).
Government Type:
Republic of Guinea Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Guinea

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

President and prime minister are in charge of executive tasks of the government.

The president is elelcted by the absolute majority vote through a two round system and the prime minister is appointed by the president.

5 years


Supreme court is the highest court of the land.

Appointed by presidential decree.

Until dismissal by executive branch


National assembly is in charge of creating legislature.

38 seats elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets