Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Katalin Novák
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Viktor Orbán


Government Name:
Adopted: 2012; Is the first constitution adopted within a democratic framework and following free elections and succeeded the 1949 constitution.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Republic
Hungary Flag
Coat of Arms of Hungary

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A somewhat shaky political and economic outlook and a relatively volatile business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is still acceptable on average. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president is largely a ceremonial role and serves as the commander-in-chief. The prime minister selects cabinet ministers and has the right to dismiss them.

The president is elected by the national assembly and must have two-thirds of the legislative votes in the first two rounds or a simple majority in the third round. The prime minister is elected by the national assembly on recommendation of the president.

President: 5 years; Prime Minister: 4 years


The constitutional court has the power to challenge legislation on the grounds of unconstitutionality. The high court of justice is the highest court of the land and has jurisdiction over all Hungarian courts.

The constitutional court judges are elected by two-thirds vote of the national assembly. The Supreme Court judges are appointed by the president upon the recommendation of the national council of justice.

Constitutional court: 12 years; High court of justice: life appointment


Initiates and approves legislation sponsored by the prime minister.

176 members are elected in single-member constituencies, 152 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system, and 58 members are allocated from a national compensatory list.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry for National Economy & National Tax and Customs Authority
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets