• The Dutch colonize present day Indonesia, naming it the Dutch East Indies. 

  • Japan invades the Dutch East Indies during World War II.

  • After four years of guerrilla warfare, the Dutch recognize Indonesian independence. 

  • West Papua is formally incorporated into Indonesia.

  • The Asian economic crisis significantly depreciated the Indonesia's rupiah currency value. 

  • East Timor gains its independence from Indonesia.
  • More than 220 thousands are killed by a tsunami that was triggered by an undersea earthquake off the coast of Sumatra, damaging the fishing and tourism industries significantly. 

  • Indonesia creates its 34th province as North Kalimantan is carved out of East Kalimantan. 

  • President Widodo shuffles his cabinet in response to declining economic performance compared to expectations. 


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new