Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Taneti Maamau
Head of Government:
President Taneti Maamau


Government Name:
Republic of Kiribati
Adopted: 1979; Contains provisions relating to citizenship of Kiribati, the special status of Banaba and the Banabans, and fundamental rights and freedoms of the individual.
Government Type:
Presidential Republic
Republic of Kiribati Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Kiribati

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Kiribati

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

In charge of the state and government and is responsible for the executory tasks of the executive branch. Appoints the cabinet.

Plurality vote.

4 years


In charge of interpreting the constitution and has jurisdiction over all courts.

The president appoints the chief justice on the cabinet's advice in consultation with the Public Service Commission (PSC). Other judges are appointed by the president on the advice of the chief justice along with the PSC.

Information not available


Nominates up to 4 members to run for president, creates legislature, and can overturn the executive veto with a 2/3 majority.

44 seats are elected in single and multi-member constituencies.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

No Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets