Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Sadyr Japarov
Head of Government:
President Sadyr Japarov


Government Name:
Kyrgyz Republic
Adopted: 2010; Introduces a strong parliament to the country, reducing the power of the historically strong president.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Republic
Kyrgyz Republic Flag
Coat of Arms of Kyrgyz Republic

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A high-risk political and economic situation and an often very difficult business environment can have a very significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is very high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Approves prime minister nomination, and is in charge of executory tasks and vesting power in the prime minister.

Absolute majority vote through a two-round system.

5 years


The supreme court is in charge of all judicial proceedings and is the highest court of the land. The constitutional court is in charge of interpreting the constitution.

Appointed by the supreme council on the recommendation of the president.

Supreme Court: 10 years; Constitutional Court: 15 years


Nominates the prime minister and is in charge of creating legislature.

120 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets