• Kyrgyz people settle in what is now Kyrgyzstan.

  • Russian forces conquer the area of Kyrgyzstan and incorporate into the Russian empire.

  • Area of present-day Kyrgyzstan becomes part of the Turkestan Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic (ASSR).

  • Kirgiz Soviet Socialist Republic (SSR), also known as Kirgizia, becomes a constituent republic within USSR.

  • Kyrgyzstan acquires its present name, dropping Kirgiza, and declares independence.

  • Kyrgyzstan joins the United Nations and the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe; economic reform program launched.

  • The Russian rouble is replaced by the som as the unit of currency.


  • The Kyrgyzstani government signs into law a deal to allow the US to continue using Manas airbase to support troops in Afghanistan, after the US agreed to more than triple the annual rent it pays for the base to $60m (£37m). The base is later on closed in 2014 due to the unrest in the country's area.


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new