Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Letsie III
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Moeketsi Majoro


Government Name:
Kingdom of Lesotho
Adopted: 1993; Includes articles on the kingdom and its laws, the protection of fundamental human rights and freedoms, and principles of state policy.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy
Kingdom of Lesotho Flag
Coat of Arms of Kingdom of Lesotho

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2019)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Lesotho

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The king serves as a ceremonial function and posses no real authority in politics. The prime minister is head of government and in charge of executive tasks of the government.

The leader of the majority party, or coalition of parties, in the assembly automatically becomes prime minister. The monarchy is hereditary.

5 years


Interprets constitution, and is the supreme court of the land.

Judges appointed by the monarch on advice of the Judicial Service Commission.

Mandatory retirement age of 75


Elects a prime minister and in charge of creating legislature.

80 members elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies and 40 elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets