• The Bantu tribe unite several smaller states including Malawi, Zambia and Mozambique to form the Maravi Confederacy.

  • Britain begins exploring the area and begins to develop a river route into Central Africa in 1878 to enable trade.

  • The area of Malawi is renamed the British Central African Protectorate, which is later changed to Nyasaland in 1907.

  • Nyasaland declares independence as Malawi.

  • Malawi ends diplomatic relations with Taiwan, switching its allegiance to China.

  • A new national flag is introduced to Malawi


BBC News open_in_new
Britannica open_in_new