Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Lazarus Chakwera
Head of Government:
President Lazarus Chakwera


Government Name:
Republic of Malawi
Adopted: 1964; Establishes independence from the UK, separates the 3 branches of government, outlines the rights of its citizens, and establishes a commonwealth nation with a multiparty democracy
Government Type:
Multiparty Democracy
Republic of Malawi Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Malawi

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A high-risk political and economic situation and an often very difficult business environment can have a very significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is very high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Serves as head of state and government, appoints cabinet, in charge of executory tasks.

Elected by plurality vote.

5 years


Independent of other branches, has unlimited jurisdiction to hear and decide on any case.

Appointed by the president upon recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission.

Mandatory retirement age of 65


In charge of creating legislature and approving presidential appointments.

194 members elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets