Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Mohammed VI
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Aziz Akhannouch


Government Name:
Kingdom of Morocco
Adopted: 1992; Contains a portion regarding basic principles and defines the different aspects of government and their relationship with the monarchy.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy
Kingdom of Morocco Flag
Coat of Arms of Kingdom of Morocco

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

Political and economic uncertainties and an occasionally difficult business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is appreciable. Source: Coface (2023)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

King acts as both the secular political leader and the "Commander of the Faithful," presides over the Council of Ministers, and appoints various members of government. Prime minister serves as the head of government of Morocco.

King is hereditary, prime minister is appointed by monarch but must be chosen from the largest party in parliament.

Life appointment


Supreme Court serves as the apex court in Morocco.

Appointed by the monarch upon the recommendation of the Supreme Council of the Judiciary.

Life appointment


Majlis al-Mustacharin revise the constitution, help with budgetary matters, approve bills, question ministers, and establish ad hoc commissions of inquiry to investigate the government's actions. The Majli al-Nuwab (lower chamber) may dissolve the government through a vote of no confidence.

Majli al-Mustacharin members are elected by indirect vote. Majli al-Nuwab members are elected by proportional representation in multi-member constituencies.

Majlis al-Mustacharin: 6 years; Majlis al-Nuwab: 5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry of Finance
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets